R.I.P. Jean-Philippe Allard

French producer and music executive Allard was one of the rare and passionate music lovers that had a way to deal with artists that made them feel special and understood. And so he got the best out of the artists he signed to PolyGram and later Universal France. I met him when he was running PolyGram Jazz in France and started to sign artists like Stan Getz, Randy Weston, Kenny Barron, Steve Lacy, Charlie Haden, Ornette Coleman, Dee Dee Bridgewater and many others, local and international, to his division. Respecting the artists wishes, guiding them to fulfil their potential and making the best possible record at a certain point in their career was what Jean-Philippe did and what I learned from him. We worked together for many years, me internationalising his releases and looking after the global marketing. Later, after he moved first to run Polydor France and later Universal Publishing France, we stayed in touch, while he, beside these time-consuming jobs, still produced jazz. I asked him to produce two of the last three Charlie Haden records, after I signed Charlie to Universal Jazz International and he delivered outstanding music with ‘Sophisticated Ladies’ and the Hank Jones / Charlie Haden duo ‘Come Sunday’. Jean-Philippe was a relaxed and intelligent producer, making the artist feel at ease, but as well opening doors for them musically. He was a kind and humble man and will be missed. Rest In Peace

Photo of Charlie, Jean-Philippe and myself by Cheung Ching Ming, taken at the recording session for ‘Come Sunday’.

3 responses to “R.I.P. Jean-Philippe Allard

  1. Im on my way to France. Perhaps I’ll see you

    on Tuesday at Athenee Theatre for the Memorial service.

    B M Bacchus

    Like

Leave a comment